Posted in Manga/Anime

Review My neighbor Totoro

My.Neighbor.Totoro.full.325264The first time I watched Studio Ghibli’s movie was a disaster. The plot was ambiguous. The idea was simple. The explanation was terrible. This wasn’t what I expected for a winning Academy Award movie. And yes, I’m talking about Spirited Away. I was so embarrassed since I suggested watching it.

I was wrong.

I believe cartoon/ anime has some qualities that adults can also enjoy. However, I made an awful mistake. No matter how we look anime/cartoon is mainly for children. To enjoy them, we should turn ourselves into children instead of setting adult standards for cartoon/ anime. I hadn’t realized this until My Neighbor Totoro.

My Neighbor Totoro was created by Hayao Miyazaki in 1988. The movie focus on two young girls and their relationship with Totoro (wind spirit.) The movie had not only brought prestigious to Hayao Miyazaki but also been a cultural impact in Japan. At the beginning of the movie, I like Satsuki and Mei right away. The way they ‘re jumping around, laughing, and screaming. Seeing how pure and innocent they are, I can’t help envying a little bit. But then, they make me smile; it has been a while since I felt this way. As the story continues, I wish they could remain cheerful as much as possible even though it’s an impossible request.

The way Mei first meet Totoro reminds me of Alice in Wonderland: all the trees, the hole then falling down, etc. Nevertheless, it is my favorite scene. I thought it’s adorable when Mei lay on a sleepy lazy Totoro. In my opinion, Totoro is a mixture of a fluffy bear and Cheshire Cat. He is unique character. Totoro possesses a child soul: big smile, pink cheeks, standing fur, and funny whiskers. If I were Satsuki and Mei, I would follow him everywhere I could.

My.Neighbor.Totoro.full.526549

For seventeen years old girl, watching My Neighbor Totoro was kind of late. But it was the best thing that ever happened to me that week. Remember to open your mind, then you will love it as much as I did.

Good luck!

Author:

Linh hồn trong thế giới ngược

Leave a Reply

